Summer Sounds, come rain or shine

24 June 2014

Residents and visitors to Woking will once again be treated to the sweet sound of free music every Saturday from 28 June until 13 September 2014.

Taking place on the putting green in Woking Park, Summer Sounds is a series of concerts which features a simmering selection of music, including local brass and jazz bands.

The first group to perform will be The Godalming Band on Saturday 28 June. Musical performances will kick off at 2pm, and each Summer Sound will last approximately two hours.

Cllr David Bittleston, Woking Borough Council's Portfolio Holder for Cultural and Community Development, said: "What a marvellous opportunity to relax with a picnic and enjoy a great programme of free music events this summer. I would encourage residents and visitors to Woking to come along and support these local bands."

The full Summer Sounds programme is displayed on notice boards around the borough and leaflets can be found in the library, leisure centre and community centres. Full details can also be found at www.woking.gov.uk/leisure/arts/eventsact/summersounds

Full programme

Saturday 28 June - Godalming Band

Saturday 19 July - The Cobham Band

Saturday 26 July - Woking Wind Orchestra

Saturday 2 August - Alder Valley Brass

Saturday 9 August - Bourne Concert Band

Saturday 16 August - Cactus Brass

Saturday 23 August - Saxophony

Saturday 30 August - Friary Guildford Brass Band

Saturday 6 September - Staines Lammas Band

Saturday 13 September - Grandpa's Spells